My tryst with books ❤

All through the day yesterday, on account of #WorldBookDay in the UK, I got to read some insanely amazing stories about how people first discovered the joy of reading, about the first ever book they read, etcetera, and I got all nostalgic.
So here’s presenting a picture of 2 books – 2 of my eternal favourites – Matilda by Roald Dahl and House at the Corner by Enid Blyton. They’re two of the first few books I read as a kid, and, and I’m glad I read these 2 because I can’t describe in words the kind of impact they’ve had in my life.
I remember trading my crackers for a bunch of books when I was in class 3 and there’s been no turning back ever since. Be it hiding a book between the pages of a text book because I wanted to find out the ending, or sneaking out of weddings to finish a gripping chapter, or
holding onto the edge of the bed before eventually falling down because of a twist in the plot I hadn’t seen coming – I’ve found solace in them in almost every moment of my 24 years of existence thus far.
But books always do that to you, don’t they?
They help you find your escape into oblivion in the most blithesome possible way one can think of –
Breathing in the scent of their pages as you let the story seep deep into your veins, metamorphosing into each of the umpteen characters you come across, teleporting yourself into a world you read about – Oh! There’s definitely no experience as magical as reading a book.

Oh, and you might ask,

“After all this time?”

Well,

“Always”.

On that note, what’s your favourite book?

P.S. I started reading Harry Potter much later, but, man, I can’t imagine my existence without it now.

P.P.S. I’m pathetic at taking pictures, but this one’s kinda special 🙂

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

One thought on “My tryst with books ❤”

Leave a comment