Amma

There are so many things I want to thank you for and it’s hard to choose one – between the times you silently slip your fingers into mine to tell me everything will be okay, whenever I go astray. Or how you ask me to follow my heart and fearlessly go after what I want. I sometimes wonder how you happily walk the extra mile for me – every single time – without batting an eyelid – without me asking you to. Or why you always put me before you.
When fear bogs me down, you don’t let me drown. You don’t disown me when I’m wrong, you instead choose to stick around – you knock sense into me, you make me strong. You help me realise every living minute that home is not a place, but a person I love coming back to.

I could exhaust my tiny vocabulary and write you a poem everyday, but I still wouldn’t be able to do justice to what you mean to me, or convey all that I want to say.
❤️

Happy mother’s day!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a comment