She

Be it at 9 in the night or 6 in the morning, she is required to quicken her pace,

She lives with worry lines that crease her forehead, with fear that clouts her face,

She isn’t allowed night outs, parties for her are a big no-no,
She is expected to sacrifice, to forgo, to let go of her ego,

She doesn’t get to stay alone, she doesn’t get to make her own choices,
Her silence, most often than not, gets overpowered, by raised voices,

She is judged for what she chooses to wear,
She’s judged for her joy, for her passion, for her pride, for her despair,

She is judged for who she chooses to be ,
She’s judged for everything she says or does- whether she’s six, or sixty,

Everytime she steps out, she steps out with an extra layer of caution,

For, there’s no place on this earth that she can call her home, her safe haven,

But hey! She is born an equal, she ain’t here to shoulder his blame, she ain’t here for him to maim,
This world she lives in, is hers too, to belong in, is hers too, to claim,

She should breathe in peace, not in panic, not in pain,

Together, it’s time we make this place safe for her, again!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

2 thoughts on “She”

Leave a Reply

