Irony

Yesterday evening, when I waited for my bus, at the bus stand,

I saw a lady walk to the litter bin nearby, with a lunch box in her hand,
She emptied its contents into a clear polythene bag, and threw it into the bin,

Where it lay, among the trash, tucked in.

Then, a few moments after, a rag picker stopped by,
He began to fish earnestly for food in the bin, when this bag caught his eye –

He happily tore it open, and bit by bit,

He finished every last morsel in it.

Talk about irony – on the one hand there’s everything in plenty, there’s abundance,
While on the other, even the left overs make a huge difference.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

4 thoughts on “Irony”

Leave a Reply

