Gender Equality.

I was scrolling through the comments of a YouTube video yesterday, when,

A random insult thrown at the YouTuber caught my attention –

Aimed at him, was the proverbial swear word, not so subtly cloaked under the sheath called “woman”,

Because, hey, where in our dictionary, in our history, have we had ANYTHING against a man?

Ma Sita, was denied an opportunity to present her defence, 
Lady Urmila’s sacrifice has never been recognized just as intense,

Queen Draupadi is often looked down at, cited to be the cause of the war, 

But the inability of her husbands, five, to rise to her defense, has never been criticised on par,

For, SHE, in the world of patriarchy we live in, is always the target, the victim, the shield, the sheath,

SHE, without a choice, is forced to bear the wound, the scar, the taint and the pain beneath,

SHE is stereotyped, prised to compromise,

Her opinions, most often than not, stay disregarded, no matter how wise,

SHE is made to toe the line, her achievements remain overlooked – big or small,
SHE is forced to live under his thumb, expected to wait around at his beck and call,

But lest we forget, it is SHE that has always encompassed HE, 
For, without her, HE, can never be!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

3 thoughts on “Gender Equality.”

Leave a Reply

