Women’s day – Time to bring in Gender Equality!

Women’s day. Le sigh! 

I always wonder what significance this one day has in the male dominated society we live in, given its patriarchal ideals and views. Because, the “change” we expect to materialize in the society, even for a day, would only be possible if we,

Treat kids of both the genders the same way. Educate and empower them both equally. Teach them both how to cook, wash, sweep and sew. Make them both strong and independent and capable. Help them understand that no job is too menial or too high for anybody, be it a man or a woman. Remove patriarchy at its very roots. Instill in them that both of them are equal by birth and neither, in any form, is superior to the other.Give them both, the freedom, the wisdom and the choice to choose, so they grow up to be each other’s support and strength and, above all, they learn to respect each other. 

This mindset, if and when, comes to existence, would make a LOT more difference than a namesake day dedicated year after year, titled for identification, “Women’s Day”.  Gender Equality would be one eternal wish of mine and the million others out there.

But, until then, if it’ll mean anything, here’s wishing all the wonderful women out there, who are cruising their way ahead despite the odds and making a difference in their own special way, a very happy Women’s Day. More power to you!

Cheers!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

9 thoughts on “Women’s day – Time to bring in Gender Equality!”

Leave a Reply

