What’s in a name? πŸ˜‡

I just read this post on a fellow blogger’s blog, and I thought I might write about my name too!

My name is Annapurani, and I share my name with my paternal grandmother, because we have this tradition of naming the kids after the names of the elders in the family, so the traditional family names are preserved atleast for the near future.

Annapurani (I’ve linked the wiki page) is actually the name of an Indian Goddess, who is the giver of food. She is the goddess of food and nourishment. 

Anna means food, and poorna  means complete.

Mother Annapurani, as she is fondly referred to, is famous all over India, specially in Kashi.

Though, of late, colleagues and friends call me Anna, a shortened and more English version of my name. 

That’s my name and the history behind it πŸ™‚

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name? πŸ˜‡”

Leave a Reply

