Satiating Saturdays – Finding your happiness ✨

The one thing that has always kept me going is celebrating the small joys of life. 

When I say small, I literally mean small. 

Every small thing that gives me joy, I make it a point to celebrate it, get excited about it and make it something I could look forward to.

Like, admiring the beautiful sunrise each day morning from my terrace, or eating my favourite salad each day, or reading my favourite book to sleep, or, having a good hair day or listening to my favourite song on loop when I’m traveling to work, or publishing my blogpost and looking forward to the response to it, or watching my favourite show on telly, or finding bliss in my alone time and solitude or just having a sound, proper, undisturbed sleep.

I actually look forward to each of them, and feel blessed that I am able to.

I know they are small, simple things of everyday life, but, there might be so many out there to whom all of these might still be a beautiful dream, to whom all of these might be that big happiness waiting to be realised. Having said that, I also believe happiness is always relative. What gives immense happiness to me, might not, to somebody else. It doesn’t really make sense to compare your source of joy to someone else’s. There’s absolutely no point doing that.

So here’s the shortcut to happiness. Instead of overlooking the smaller wonders of daily life, and waiting for that big, penultimate “happiness”, we could as well learn to relish, cherish and rejoice those beautiful, significant moments too, and celebrate each of them, while treading along in the journey of life.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

7 thoughts on “Satiating Saturdays – Finding your happiness ✨”

Leave a Reply

