Satiating Saturdays – Why it is completely okay to be alone and not be part of the crowd.

Being alone is NEVER overrated. Being alone gives you the kind of space, freedom and peace you have always longed for, and you just couldn’t find anywhere else.

All my life, I have been trying to mingle with people, match my tastes, my thoughts, my opinions, my ideas, my preferences, with the crowd that I am supposed to belong to; I have always tried to find my happiness by choosing what the crowd chooses, I have always desperately tried, to match my ways with theirs, but have only failed miserably.

And I am happy I failed.

Because, if I had succeeded I would have been very much part of every crowd, I would have made lots of new friends, I would have been…everywhere except where I really wanted to be.

If I had succeeded, I would not have been me. I would have been somebody else in the cloak of my physical appearance.

If I had succeeded, I would not have been happy. I would have been regretting each time I succumbed to the opinions of the crowd, I would have been regretting each time I hadn’t taken a stand for myself and stood out of the crowd.

It might not be the easiest thing to do, but it is completely okay to stay alone and not belong in any crowd, if it means choosing what your heart wants, if it means following your instincts. You don’t have to necessarily change your preferences to belong somewhere you wouldn’t want to. You don’t have to compromise on your identity to belong in the crowd.

Because, you, don’t have to fit in, anywhere.

So, stay you, stay who you want to be, even if it means staying alone.

And remember, being alone does not mean being lonely. You just choose to have a different company.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

10 thoughts on “Satiating Saturdays – Why it is completely okay to be alone and not be part of the crowd.”

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a
    famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

