Going against the grain…

You cannot cut my wings and expect me to fly, can you?

disagree with a lot of stuff most of the time. But what I find extremely annoying and clichéd and often end up disagreeing with, is the mindset of people.

Having been born and brought up in a orthodox Indian society, it is part of the curriculum for the girls only to learn the household chores. I live in a typical male chauvinistic society that believes only the women are born to do the cooking, washing, sewing, basically all the basic menial household chores and that the men are too important to do servile jobs like these. I agree with the fact that the physical builds of the men and the women are different. But that apart, I believe that men and women are completely equal by birth, worth and right. Not even a tiny bit superior or inferior. Each has equal rights and freedom to choose and to live his/her life in his/her own terms. No one’s the boss. And no job is superior or inferior for anyone. 

The chauvinistic thoughts, ideas and opinions are exactly what I cringe about. Because I want to fly, and fly high to wherever I want to, without barriers and restrictions. I would like to pave my own path and live my life on my own terms. 

So it is high time this cliche is broken and it is high time there is light. It is high time mindsets change. 

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

3 thoughts on “Going against the grain…”

Leave a Reply

