Stay You!

I didn’t really have a photo to post for this challenge, yet I wanted to share the tumultuous feelings running around in my brains, so here I am, translating my thoughts into words.

If I had got this prompt a few days ago, I’d have ranted and grumbled and groaned and bored you to death about how difficult it is to endure. Until that day, when suddenly, sense seeped into a few of my brain cells and I realised a simple truth. 

Which is this.

I realised what I wanted from life. I realised what made me really happy. I realised that I wanted to be looked up to by people, like I look up to many. I realised I wanted to inspire people, and more importantly inspire myself to keep going on. I realised that I didn’t really have to prove anything to anyone. I realised I didn’t want to do anything to impress anybody at all. 

I figured it is important to listen to my heart. Because then, I would know what I really want. And irrespective of what the world thinks of me when I decide to follow my heart, I should have the courage to still choose to do what it says.

I figured that if something doesn’t matter to me, there is no reason why I have to be resilient to it, or silently endure it. I wouldn’t have to give a damn about anything that curbs me from being who I want to be. 

I’m a mad hatter and I’m okay about being one. I’m weird but I don’t think I’m wrong. I’ve made plenty of mistakes in the past, but I wouldn’t let them affect my future. And for that, I’d have to begin to love myself for who I am. I’d have to learn to love myself with my faults. 

It doesn’t matter if you don’t have 1,374895,485905 followers on Facebook, twitter or Instagram. It doesn’t matter if you look like tart. It doesn’t matter if people who don’t believe in you, judge you. All that matters is your belief in yourself, your strength to face it all and stand up tall, and your resilience to anything that comes in your way. Because at the end of the day it’s going to be just you in the field, battling for what you want. So, just go out and do whatever it is that’d make you truly happy.

Stay strong, stay beautiful, stay you.
Cheers!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

4 thoughts on “Stay You!”

Leave a Reply

