Day 10 – 30 Day Writing Challenge πŸ’ƒ

Something I feel strongly about.

Independence. My independence. Independence as a woman, as an adult. More often than not, I’m having to seek or ask for it – when it is supposed to be mine all through.

Right from birth, the girl’s parents decide for her- what she has to eat, what she has to wear, where she has to study and what not. I am sure they have the best interest at heart for her, and the girl is probably too young to decide. But as she grows up, the society joins her parents to help them decide what’s best for her. Her stream of education, choice of job, taste of attire. A few years further down the lane, an entire clan comes together to decide who she should marry, and at what age. 

Unless the girl takes the reins in her hands and decides for herself, she isn’t given a chance to choose. She isn’t ‘allowed’ to be different, bold and pragmatic. Though there are huge advancements in various spheres of the world, certain aspects still tend to remain the same. And that is exactly what I’d like to change about the society.

I want people, specifically women, to be able to enjoy the independence they so rightfully own. Take decisions for themselves and not be stereotyped. Choose what they wish to, and decide what’s good for them, without people questioning her abilities.









P.S. This is Day 10 of my 30 day writing challenge

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

2 thoughts on “Day 10 – 30 Day Writing Challenge πŸ’ƒ”

Leave a Reply

