When In Rome…

​Yesterday, I read a post on the social media where a girl describes her experience of a walk (wearing shorts) in the park, in a city in India. About the numerous whistles and catcalls she had received. About the difference in attitudes towards a man and a woman.

And here’s what I have to say about it.

One. The Indian society is patriarchal. There’s no denying that. The men are always treated superior.

Two. The exposure. Not every Indian is exposed to western culture. Not every Indian is sophisticated. Not every Indian has crossed the border. Not every Indian has seen variety. Not every Indian is educated and cultured. Majority of the Indian population is orthodox. Is traditional. Is bound by the values of the system he/she lives in.

Three. You can’t talk about Quantum Physics to a 1 year old kid and expect it to understand. Neither can you force it to. It’s stupidity. You can’t force change out of the blue into the society and expect it to co-operate. People understand and evolve with time. Give them the time they require. You can’t always fast-forward things your way. You can’t always have everything your way.

Four. Though I totally believe in being the change I want to see, I also believe in the fact that change actually begins at the grass-root level. Begin by changing the thought-process of your son when he is a kid. Begin by changing the thought-process of your father, brother. Treat your daughters equal to your sons. Because, you and me make the society, and that’s half the problem solved.

Five. When in Rome, be a Roman. It is absolutely good to experience, understand and enjoy new things. But, in the process, try not to lose your identity. Your identity makes you, you.

 

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

One thought on “When In Rome…”

Leave a Reply

