An extra hour…

You know, I have this stupid paranoia of my alarm not going off in the mornings. And it’s been there right through. When I was in school/college and had to wake up early to study for my boards/semesters, I’d set my alarm clock right and proper, and yet, wake up atleast an hour early before the alarm went off, for the fear of the alarm not going off at the set time. I’d miss out on my sleep first, finish whatever I’d planned to read, and then go back for a cat nap (for exactly 10 minutes) before I started off again. 

The habit survives even now. Back then and now, I’d always ask my mum to wake me up just in case. But now, exams quite nearly done, the extra hour I get when I wake up early, is the sweetest gift I give myself each morning. I tend to sleep my best that particular hour.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

