People Skills

You know what’s in demand these days? This. People skills. To be able to get along with people, anytime, anywhere. I wouldn’t call that “handling”, “dealing”, or “managing” people. I’d rather call it “getting along”. It’s a talent, an amazing one to be able to easily get along with people of all sorts, masking your irritation, your anger, your worries from them. To be able to play along, no matter what. To not withdraw yourself inwards and go all quiet if you’re not pleased. I wish I could do all this.

I wish I could mask my hatred, my love, my anger, my pain, my disappointment, my irritation, from my face, from people. I wish I could feign it all.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

2 thoughts on “People Skills”

  1. Nice post Annapurani. To add my two paise, I feel it really depends on where you are in the management heirarchy. For eg. if you are in a management position where you would need to deal with lot of subordinates, you need to learn to manage people with diverse mindsets and attitudes. But, if you are more of a peer to everyone, you might need to get along πŸ™‚ I think, if you have to work in the corporate, you will need to wear some sort of mask, which can be difficult for genuine people.

    But, yeah, in personal life you have to learn to get along with a lot of people. I think that’s when our writing does help to vent out those frustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

