That One Chance…

You know, every day, I wake up with 2 kinds of emotions. Every day. One, regretting most of my actions and another being thankful for all the chances I’ve always got. 

I’m 23 now, and I’ve been horrid for most part of my life as yet, most of my memory is filled with unpleasant instances of the mistakes I unfailingly committed – if there was an encyclopaedia for errors, I think, I would have crossed them all. Be it about lying to each person in my life for the silliest of reasons, or changing my marks in my examination answer sheets, or stealing my teacher’s pen, or telling tales, or bitching about people, or exaggerating something to a point beyond imagination, to shifting blames, to not standing up by someone’s side when they needed me – I’ve done it all. I’ve been lazy, corrupt and evil. 

But you know what, each time I was mercifully pardoned. People found it alright to give me another chance, all the time, considering the fact that my mistakes were never blunders. People always seemed to think I deserved a chance. And it has always been those chances that have helped me grow, that have helped me change as person, better myself as a human.

You know, sometimes it is that one chance that people crave for, to prove themselves, to show you they’ve changed. It’s easy to turn your nose up and be a snot, but it feels better to be forgiving, to be inclusive. It feels right to overlook flaws and help people evolve. It feels good to pass on all the good you’ve received, if it’s going to help someone feel better. You’re actually doing yourself a favour by helping some one redeem themselves. I’d more than gladly do it a million times over, because, I know what it feels like, to be given another chance. 

P.S. Having said that, it ain’t good to wake up with regrets. Flush them all out of your system and look ahead. Live each day like a new leaf. And don’t judge. Or let anyone judge you.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

