Just Another Thought

So Shah Rukh Khan was again detained at the Los Angeles airport yesterday.

So here’s what I thought when I read the news –

1. Shah Rukh Khan is a WORLD renowned celebrity and if this is the case with him, think about the possibilities for commoners like you and me.

2. I wonder what the US of America thinks of itself. What all I think of it – A super power, well developed, extremely scheming, supremely over confident, or something which has an extremely high opinion about itself and a tremendously low opinion of the rest of the world.

3. I wonder why does the US security miss to identify the real culprits who are keen on creating havoc and tremor and doubt the rest, those who don’t seem to have anything close to harming them on their minds?

4. I also wonder, very much, what will be US’s reaction if we hold up any of their superstars or commoners at our airports in a manner similar ? 

 

Disclaimer: I have absolutely nothing against the US of America, no personal grudge at all.  These are just thoughts that crossed my mind and I wanted to express them. Not intended to hurt anyone. Peace!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

5 thoughts on “Just Another Thought”

  1. One, he’s only “world renowned” because there are Indians and Pakistanis a lot of places. Most of the rest of us, especially in the US don’t have a clue who he is. Hell, I enjoy Bollywood movies and I didn’t recognize his name – though once I looked him up and saw a pic I was like “Doh! Him!”

    Two, this happens and it even happens to our own people. The watch lists are stupidly flawed, though I don’t know if a list was responsible for this. It could have been his travel patterns.

    Like

    1. I am not blaming the list at all. And the Shah Rukh Khan issue was just a trigger to thoughts that were running in my mind for sometime now. I agree anything could have been the reason for this than the watch list but I’m not exactly talking about him only here. I have heard about/from numerous people who have either been denied a visa, or have been detained or have been sent back without valid reason. Shah Rukh Khan’s case became news because he’s a public figure. But my post is not exactly about him!

      Like

      1. A nation has the right to protect its people by limiting who is allowed in. They also don’t have to provide a reason for it. Frankly, the US lets more people in with little or no hassle than almost any other country in the world…and with less – on our end of things at least – corruption.

        We do, however, have an intelligence (as in data gathering & analysis) issue when it comes to both MENA and Asia Minor. I’m sure there’s a lot of people who get denied entry because of the mistakes that causes. I’m also, however, sure that some it is bad paperwork generated by some of the grifters over their who charge people to get that paperwork in order.

        Like

Leave a Reply

