Friends Forever!

To Uthra, my sister and first best friend. To Pooja, Anushka, Gayathri, Ezhil, Sabarritha, M.K., Abhi, Lk, Mahee, Kishore, Suraj. Happy Friendship Day to You!
Oh and if you want to buy me a “friendship day” gift to me, just visit my Amazon wish list, or my Goodreads To Be Read list – you’ll know what exactly to give me. Or perhaps a Calvin and Hobbes comics box set will also do ๐Ÿ˜†

In a world where nothing comes free, where people don’t talkย toย each other without purpose, there is this beautiful bond called friendship. Where you just connect with someone, instantly or maybe in a day, in weeks, in months and become ‘Friends‘.

Friends who like you for who you are, not for what you’ll become or what they want you to become. Friends who don’t tell you what to do, but join you in the fun.

No, I’m certainly not talking about people who call themselves your friends, but every time you need them they aren’t there. Not people for who you make yourself available all the time, but they conveniently ask you “Is it something important? (With a smiley)”. Not people who let you down during your rough patches. Not people who are jealous of who you are, or what you have. Not people who constantly find ways and means to change you the way they want you to be. Not people who don’t stay with you when you’re in distress, and get back to you in your glory. Not people who talk to you all day, but aren’t ready to listen to you when you want them to. Not people who find it easy to make excuses and not be there during your important moments in life when you want them by your side.

I’m talking about people who like you for who you are. People who don’t put up with you, but actually enjoyย your company. People to whom your presence matters the world. People who not just accept your flaws, but like you with your flaws. People who’ll laugh with you, cry with you, who’ll happily eat every bait with you. People who’ll pull your leg all the time, but will be the first to speak up for you when someone puts you down. People to whom you can bare your heart to. People with whom you can always be your true self, without any pretence on, without any necessity to impress. People who’ll be extremely busy, but will still find time for you, because you mean a lot to them. People who’ll become your family when you are alone, and stand by your side without questions when you need them. People, who might miss wishing you on your birthday, who might not talk to you everyday, but will still get through to you the moment they sense you’re not okay. I’m talking about people who’ll never judge you for who you are, or for the decisions you make.

I’m talking about people who are your real friends. Not your Facebook friends or your Twitter followers. Not the forced kind either. Real, non-pretence people, with who you share a beautiful bond called friendship, with whom you strike a chord. People, who can resonate at the same wavelength as yours, who can read your mind looking at your face without you having to utter a word. People, who always give you the right vibe. People who see right through you, beyond all your hoity-toity airs, your fake smiles and your sharp tongue.

Friendship, like any other relationship isn’t perfect. And the beauty of it would be lost if it was. It would’ve been extremely soppy and dull and boring, if it were not for the stupid misunderstandings and the petty fights. If it were not for the numerous arguments. They make the bond stronger, more special.

I’m extremely lucky to have found a few such, and to those few I’d like to dedicate this blog post. You know I’m a defective piece, wired to be just the way I am. And I know you’ll stand by me, rock solid, no matter what. Your presence matters the world to me, and I will cling on to you forever. Thanks for always being an amazing part of my world. Can’t imagine my life without even one of you. You guys are special.

To a bond as beautiful as this, a day wouldn’t suffice. Nevertheless, cheers to beautiful people who make your world go round, people with whom you forge a relationship, fun and pure and everlasting.

Cheers to friends. Cheers to friendship. Cheers to Friendship Day!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

13 thoughts on “Friends Forever!”

  1. @annapurani93 #HappyFriendshipDay Thanks a ton for the dedication!!
    I am not that gud in writing!!
    Soโ€ฆonly this i haveโ€ฆ.Loads of luv๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks dear๐Ÿ˜…I never thought we became friends by choice/chance, always knew we were destined to be ๐Ÿ‘ญ๐Ÿ˜˜,many at times I wonder what the fact that still keeps our bonding alive after all the fights and gaps and it striked me ‘you are the only person with whom I argue a lot next to my mom’๐Ÿ˜ ,this is the nature of true friendship๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ,the belief that u will be there on my side forever makes me feel good and stronger. Thanks for that phone call ,you obviously know what I mean ๐Ÿ˜… And I earnestly ask you to change 1 decision ,which I have been asking you from the day we became friends.wish you all success and happiness forever๐Ÿ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know me inside out Ezhil. I can bare my heart open to you, without hiding anything. The phone call had to happen. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜
      Thanks for being there. And I know what you are talking about ๐Ÿ˜› But nothing like that will happen. You’ll be one of the first to know if something happens. Don’t worry.

      Like

  3. Thankieeeee Annapu… Happy friendship day to you too!!! And thanks for caring about me and being there for me always! I’ll always be there for you whenever you need me too… I promise! I wish you stay my cute lil friend always ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We became friends in a very short period.. I really wish we stay together forever and ever..
    Sorrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyy.. I couldn’t read this post yesterday and #Hi10 for the same.. We are like pooh and piglet.. Not at all fighting.. ๐Ÿ˜€ we should try to be Tom and Jerry.. Fights but stays together ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

