Time For Some Delicious Carrot Pickle πŸ’ž

So this is one super delicious dish, which is super easy to make. And I’m sharing the recipe right here, for all of you to make and relish.

Basically I hate cooked carrots, so most of the time I eat them raw or prepare salads. But sometimes salads can be boring – but mind you, I love my salads and can have them anytime during the day, every day of my life. Specially the Mexican Pico De Gallo and our very own Kachumber Salad.

Now for the carrot pickle – it’s not exactly pickle, I’m calling it one ’cause I make it all spicy.

Here are the ingredients – The measure here is for 4-5 medium sized carrots.

1. Carrots – 4-5 

2. Grounded mustard/mustard powder – 1/2 tea spoon 

3. Gingelly oil/mustard oil ( Based on preference) – 2 tablespoons

4. Chilly Powder – 2 tablespoons 

5. Salt – 1 1/2 tablespoons

6. Lemon Juice – 1 tablespoon

Of course the salt and the spice can be varied based on the needs of your taste buds. Also, I prefer gingelly oil to mustard oil.

So wash the carrots thoroughly, and chop them thin and long, length roughly to match the size of your index finger. Put the chopped carrots in a big bowl suitable for tossing, and add all the ingredients one by one. Mix them all together, and keep the mixture closed for like, say, an hour – this is for the flavours and spices to sink into the carrot slices. 

After the said time, open the lid of the bowl, and Ta Da..we have our very own carrot pickle ready!

I love having this with almost anything and everything. This is one fine way to make people eat carrots, methinks. Try it, you might just fall in love with it too! 

P. S. Overlook the eversilver paathiram a.k.a vessel πŸ˜‹

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

