Thoughts…

This is probably the umpteenth time I’m writing about this, yet, I still don’t seem to have a dearth of words or emotions. Everytime a girl steps out of the house, and does not return before the sun sets, the parents begin to fear. The elders in the house begin to panic. Specially when she is out alone. Pandemonium strikes when she stays out late, post the 8 p.m. limit. She, then is always asked to be accompanied by her father/brother/male friend in order to be safe. Why? Because, may be, in our society, a man only respects another ‘man’s’ feelings? Or because, you always need physical power and muscles to fend yourself – which only the men have? My question is, why at all the need to fend? Why can’t every woman in the world go out, do her thing any time she wishes to, without having to check the time, without worry lines masking her forehead, without having to book a cab/private vehicle each time she gets late, taking the public transport for her commute? She should be able to walk scot free at any hour, herself. There shouldn’t be a need for a guardian – there shouldn’t be a need for her to guard herself. 

True independence is achieved when fear vanishes from the heart and the mind, and makes way for a worry-free life. When the mind blocks are removed and when there’s no reason for agony. When there’s equality, and when there’s peace. When thoughts become reformed, and when actions become sensible. When the root of all fear/pain/agony/worry is removed. When all the pretence is removed.

Until then, I’ll keep writing, I’ll keep hoping. 

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

