For The Love Of Superstar

I wasn’t much of a movie person at all, when I was in school. I was allowed to watch movies very rarely, and the only source I got to watch them, was on the TV – on the DD national. So most of the movies I watched as a kid were only Hindi movies, and they would star either of these 3 actors – Amitabh Bachchan, Rajesh Khanna or Shah Rukh Khan. (Because they are my dad’s favourites). This practice continued even during my college days, but the number of channels that I was allowed to watch had increased. So I had an extensive variety of movies to watch, all again Hindi. 

All the while though, I wasn’t living in a bubble. Because, in the few Tamil channels that were available at my place, everytime a Superstar Rajinikanth’s movie was telecast, every member of the family would finish the task at hand at an amazing speed, and would sit down to watch the movie. No switching of channels during the movie was allowed. No disturbance of any kind was entertained until the movie was over. 

When my friends(from outside Tamil Nadu) at work came to know I hadn’t watched many of his movies yet, they were amazed. And I was amazed too, by the amount of their fervour, their love for the Superstar. 

But one thing was clear to me, all through. Our Superstar has always the one supremely common thread who kept us connected. Everytime, then and now, his movie is released, it is celebration time for all of us. There would be excitement about the music, the plot, the ticket – booking, but what tops it all is the opportunity for us to see our Thalaivaa on screen again. Such is his charisma. His expressions become our emotions. His signature style, our ultimate swag. His movie, an experience for a lifetime. His fans become family. He is that undisputed uniting factor of the country. He is our Thalaivaa, our Superstar. Our only Rajini. 

P.S. Check today’s The Hindu, Cinema Plus, Page 2 😋💞

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

