A Page From My Diary

More often than not I find myself freaking out for something extremely stupid. Well that’s me, and people who know me top to toe, know pretty well how to handle me. I freak out, because, for starters, I’m an extreme pessimist. Anything I start with, I will first try and figure out all the ways and means by which it can go wrong. I’ll try and think of all the obstacles that can come my way and hamper it – all this even before start. But that’s how I am, and before you judge me, hear me out, understand my perspective.

Given the fact that I’m an out and out pessimist, it is no surprise that I never expect anything positive. But that’s exclusively for myself. When it comes to family and friends, I’ll go all out and exude so much positivity that they’ll end up casting away their negative thoughts. I’ll ask them to only, and completely think of all good things that can happen, and forget about every tiny thing that’s gone wrong in the past. 

But I’m a bit more insecure and under confident than the whole world put together. So how do I prepare myself to face all the disappointments I have to?

I think of all negative things that can happen, all the umpteen ways something can go wrong and list them out. Once that’s done, I try and make sure I cleanly remove all these thorns from my path. But then, that doesn’t and wouldn’t suffice. Life is all about uncertainty, ain’t it? So I always have learnt to expect the worst out of everything I do, to expect the worst from all people and situations. So if something wrong truly does happen, though my heart will ache, I will have the strength to pull through it. And if something good happens it’s a double delight, like a cherry on top of an absolutely beautiful strawberry cake.

P.S. Before you jump to conclusions, I’m NOT asking people to think negative/be pessimists. This is simply my perspective, and I’m sharing what works for me.


Adios, Amigos!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

2 thoughts on “A Page From My Diary”

Leave a Reply

