A Rainy Day

I don’t really look forward to eating. But yesterday was different. I starved myself all afternoon for want of an appetite. Come evening, and the rains began. So much for hating everything wet and cold, I got completely drenched (I had no umbrella/raincoat/jerkin on me), was shivering as I reached home. I suddenly remembered I was on an empty stomach all day. Feeling ravenous, I went inside sniffing my way into the kitchen. The aroma engulfed me, enticed me. Without much ado about anything, without turning my nose up at anything, for the first time in ages I sat down at the table without my mom asking me to. I took away the lid to find hot rava kichdi (rava upmà) in plenty. I loaded my plate to my heart’s content and started gulping down spoonfuls, relishing every bit I ate. Never before had I eaten upmà without complaining or making a face. No wonder, the wonder that was etched on my mother’s face as she observed me gobbling down my food with so much love seemed justified – for the first time 💞

You value something only if you are deprived of it.

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

5 thoughts on “A Rainy Day”

Leave a Reply

