That Eating Disorder!

Marriage receptions are occasions where people get to meet, greet and … eat. Where people get ravenous in their excitement of meeting people and the aroma of the extremely delicious menu. Unless, they are a tad bit like me.(Salads and soups comprise my main course. The aroma of food doesn’t entice me to eat at all, it works the other way round – I stop feeling hungry. Take me out for lunch – I bet a million bucks, I’ll end up spoiling your appetite as well.) Yesterday evening was one such occasion. A lot of meeting and greeting done, I proceeded to the dining hall just to take in so much food that’ll help me survive the half an hour journey back home (after being on an empty stomach all afternoon)
That was one more time when I realised how pathetic I was, with food. The aroma of the food alone seemed to quell my hunger. I wasn’t even a tiny bit keen on tasting any of the items that were to be placed on my plate, forget eating them. Cursing myself silently, I marched towards the place where empty plates were placed. I thought I could at least pick and choose what eateries I wanted and eat them only. But that was easier said than done. The moment we sat, a few helps took us to a table where the plates were already laden with three-fourth of the menu for the evening. I couldn’t help but make a face as I sat down. All the hunger having already died down, I didn’t have a clue how I was going to finish even half of what was in front of me. It took me several moments to swallow a single morsel, every bite of what I ate made me want to puke. (mind you, I’m not complaining about the quality of food or it’s preparation – recheck the title ;)) The only saving grace at the table was the good company for some proper, distracting conversation that helped me keep nibbling, albeit a few morsels. I ended up wasting almost every single item on the plate, no inspiration withstanding, and got up stomach full – of guilt.

It’d be so much better if the helps wait for people to sit and then begin serving the food. It’s no good placing humongous quantities of everything before one sits down to eat.
People can just ask for what they want, how much they want and refuse what they don’t want. It’ll help reduce wastage of food so much.
Simple, no? Guests happy, hosts happier.

P.S. It’s not just with the eating only I have a problem. It’s pretty much with the meeting and greeting also. I realised yesterday, I’ve wheeled myself into a shell I’m not ready to come out of. Not yet. I figured I was happier with my books, in my room, living in a world that’s inanely as mad as I want it to be, in a world that’ll have me no matter how bad I am. In a world where I needn’t answer anyone or meet anyone’s expectations and no one would judge me for the choices I make. In a world where I can stay as oblivious as I wish to be.

Gosh! My post script looks as big as my post now, doesn’t it?๐Ÿ˜‚

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

