The “Stories That Touched Me” Series.

.

Random stories that have made an impact in my life. Stories I like listening to, over and over again. Stories I cherish in that favorite corner of my heart.
Will post them here as I recollect them. Hope you enjoy reading them.

“There was this little boy who hated going to school. And doing anything related to it. Right from getting up early in the morning, brushing, bathing, having his breakfast, he sulked for everything. But the worst tantrums were reserved for, when he was made to wear his shoes. It was his daily habit to cry every time his mom made him wear the shoes.
That morning was no different. He sulked all through. And the moment his mom made him wear his shoes, he began screaming. And yelling. And crying. His mom thought it was the usual, and went ahead with tying his laces tight.

The boy died a few hours later.

He was a bit by a scorpion, which was resting in one of his shoes. The moment he had put his foot inside the shoe, the scorpion began to sting him. And the pain had made him scream, and cry and yell. His mom had presumed it was the usual. Only, the reason was different that day.”

P.S. My father used to narrate this to me when I was a kid. And asked me to always, always check and dust my shoes before I wore them. Might sound a common sense thing now, but back then, I always wanted reasons for everything I was asked to do. So.

 

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

