SRI VISHNU SAHASRANAMAM (SHLOKA 20) – PART 29

“Maheshvaaso Maheebharta Srinivasas Sataam-gatih
Aniruddhas Suraanando Govindo Govidaam Patih”
Brilliantly explained.

Divya Kataksham

In this Part we will explore the meaning of the 20th Shloka of Sri Vishnu Sahasranamam.

  Shloka 20Maheshvaaso Maheebharta Srinivasas Sataam-gatih   |
Aniruddhas Suraanando Govindo Govidaam Patih          ||20||

Purport:
Bhagavan is the wielder of the divine bow and the One who held up the Earth during Pralaya by taking the Varaaha Avataar. He has Goddess Lakshmi eternally on his chest and holds her close to his heart as Srinivasa and bestows the highest destiny attainable by those who seek Him. He manifests in various forms and cannot be obstructed by anyone from bestowing his grace on his devotees. As Govinda, He gives protection to all his devotees and since He is also the master of words, He is the protector of the Vedas.

The above Shloka contains the following Namas:

  1. Maheshvaasah
  2. MaheeBharta
  3. Srinivasah
  4. Sataam-Gatih
  5. Aniruddhah
  6. Suraanandah
  7. Govindah
  8. Govidaam Patih

Now let’s examine the meaning of the above Namas:

View original post 4,299 more words

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

