My tryst with the “Harry Potter” world

I dedicate this blog post to all my fellow Harry Potter fans in the world, for I’m sure you share the same emotions as me, if not more ❤

Harry Potter. What would I have done if these 2 words didn’t exist in the world I live in?
All thanks to Mrs.Ramakrishnan, a family friend, on whose insistence I got my hands on my first ever Harry Potter book.(It was hers, actually 😛). It was “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”, Book 3 of the series. ( I was in Class VIII then. I had no clue about the Harry Potter legacy till then – I hadn’t taken the time out or interest to read anything related to it, sparing a few articles that had appeared in The Hindu.)
I started reading the book the moment I reached home, finished it overnight and though I hadn’t known one single character until then, from that moment on, I felt I belonged in their world. Then started my hunt for the rest of the books of the series. I read them all, once, twice, thrice, as many times I wanted to. I still continue to. And every time I read it, I feel I’m there, in person, being part of everything that’s happening in that magical world. That’s exactly what one reads books for. In that world of Harry Potter – that Ms Rowling had created, I always got answers to my questions. I learned what it was like, to be loved, to be cared for, to be understood. It taught me the value of friendship, and friends. I understood what courage really was. It taught me to live. Though it was a work of fiction – to me, it was, is and will continue to be one of my prime sources of happiness. To me, The Harry Potter series is ‘like’ Bhagavad-Gita( Nothing, of course, can ever replace The Bhagavad-Gita☺), My soul-mate. My all time favourite go-to source – whether I’m happy, sad, angry or distraught; any time, every time. I keep referring to contexts from the book or try and quote my favourite lines from them, whenever I can, as often as I can. Reading Harry Potter is like therapy for me – the best I give myself. It keeps me oblivious to the misery out there in the world, providing me the solace I yearn for. Harry Potter, for me, has now grown to be a habit, a treasure, an emotion, that I will gladly cherish for LIFE.

P.S. I am ETERNALLY indebted and grateful to
Ms. J.K. Rowling – Thank you heaps, Ma’am, for bringing Harry Potter into our lives. I simply can’t imagine mine without it.

Also, I’m happily excited that the legacy is going to expand with the release of “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child Parts I & II”. I will get to go through the same phenomenal experience I used to have every time a new book in the series got released. So, I’m more than eagerly looking forward to one more inclusion into my inseparable Harry Potter collection.

P.P.S. Even as I write this, I’m reading Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows for the umpteenth time 💙 – I’m, undoubtedly, a Harry Potter Holic for LIFE!

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

2 thoughts on “My tryst with the “Harry Potter” world”

Leave a Reply

