The Mountain of ‘Faith’

A few days back, I read a short story in which, a little girl goes to a temple with her father. There she spots lions engraved on the pillars around. She cries out of fear to her father, saying she was scared that the lions might come and eat her up. Her father cools her down telling her that those lions were not real and were mere figures engraved on the stone pillars. To which the little girl asks him “if those lions are just stone figures, and won’t eat me, then how can the stone sculptures of God come and bless me and grant me what I wish for?”. The father gapes. Simple question. Yet, it managed to trigger enough emotions in me, to make me write this piece.

Right from childhood, I and several others belonging to my generation and before, coming from similar households, have been brought up with stories of ‘Prahlad’ and ‘Thayumanavan’ among other memorable ones.

‘Prahlad’ – A story where Lord Vishnu emerges from a pillar to bless his devotee Prahlad and save him from the clutches of his father Hiranyakashyap – thereby restoring the faith that everything belonged to the Supreme Almighty and his divine presence can be felt in every micron of the universe.

‘Thayumanavan’ – It’s a heart warming story where Lord Shiva transforms himself into an expecting lady’s mother, to help her during her critical hour of labour and helps her deliver her child sans any pain, hurt and harm.

‘Faith’ is a very powerful weapon. And faith entrusted in the wrong people and places, results in havoc. Yet, faith, CAN move mountains. Where there is faith, there will never be reason for doubt. Or fear. Or questions and question marks. Faith will probably be the only miracle that will create a world of difference to you, wherever you go. And probably also bring alive the lions from the pillars, or the Supreme Lord from the Stone sculpture. Hahaha, no, I’m not being stupid. Or idealistic. Nor am I chiding the little girl. All I’m saying, is, if she believes praying to the “Stone Sculpture of God”, in the temple will make a difference to her thoughts, it definitely WILL. And I’m saying this, because, I “Believe”.

 

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

Leave a Reply

