Who are you?

I was returning back from a cousin’s engagement with my mom, in a local-train. We were sitting in a ladies compartment. The compartment was quite crowded, as it was the time when people traveled back home from office. Fortunately, yet, we got places to sit. And opposite us, there were two ladies discussing each’s family affairs, audible enough for the entire compartment to hear. They purchased oranges from one of the hawkers who had just entered the compartment, and started eating them to complement their conversation. This far, things were fine. At least according to me. Then. As they started peeling the oranges, one woman of the two, threw the peels on the other, which eventually fell down on the floor of the compartment. The other woman got irritated, not because the peels fell on the floor, but because they fell on her first. She, in turn threw her share of orange-peels back at the other women, which too headed the floor. In a short time, the entire place was strewn with the orange skins. And neither of the two bothered to pick them up before they got down at their respective stations. And requests for the same were heeded by deaf ears. I have no questions here, as I too am at fault. I did not have the guts to make them realize their doing, nor did I have the humility to pick them all up and throw them into the litter-bin. All I could do was stare, and glare, which were met with cold sneers. All this done, I just had one question running in loop in my mind. Do we actually need the politicians or the leaders of the state to clean what we drop? Are we kids? Who are we? What are we, to ourselves and to the nation? What is our identity? Will pride or ego be hurt if we do what is to be done? Till when will we expect ‘change’ to come? When will we be the change?

P.S. The answer is within us. We have to only want to see it and realize it, to do it. 🙂

Author: Annapurani Vaidyanathan

I hoard books for a living. And read them too, when I am not sleeping. I express what I think, so my unheard feelings don't sink. I like to sing when I walk, to keep shades grey, at bay. I speak like a dork, but I don't want to drive anyone away. I write what's real, and nothing fake, so visit my blog whenever you need a break ;)

1 thought on “Who are you?”

Leave a Reply

